Top Nigeria Monarch, Federal Lawmakers, Petroleum Minister were among Dignitaries who witness the famous Gbaramatu Amaseikumor Festival in Warri South West, Delta State

Spread the love


The rich culture of the people of Gbaramatu Kingdom, Warri South West Local Government Area of Delta State was on Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 showcased to the whole world when the monarch of the Kingdom, His Imperial Majesty, Oboro-Gbaraun II, (Aketekpe-Agadagba) and High Chief Government Ekpemupolo, a.k.a Tompolo hosted cream-de-la cream at the famous Amaseikumor Festival.

Our Correspondent reports that the Pere of Gbaramatu Kingdom in Warri South-West Local Government Area of Delta, His Imperial Majesty, Oboro-Gbaraun II, (Aketekpe-Agadagba) and some Traditional rulers in the State were elated as the Ooni of Ife Kingdom, His Imperial Majesty Adeyeye Enitan Babatunde Ogunwusi, Ojaja, II joined them in celebration of the Amaseikumor Annual Festival which was held in Oporoza, headquarters of Gbaramatu Kingdom.

Our Correspondent also reports that Who-is-who in Delta State gathered as Gbaramatu celebrated the Amaseikumor festival just as other eminent Nigerians streamed out to be part of the celebration.

Top government functionaries including the Minister of State (Petroleum Resources), Sen. Heineken Lokpobri, the Minister of Aviation and Aerospace, Chief Festus Keyamo SAN, the member representing the people of Delta South Senatorial District, Sen. Joel Onowakpo-Thomas, the Delta State Governor, Rt.Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori who was represented by Hon. Solomon Ighrakpata (Executive Chairman, Delta State Board of Internal Revenue, DBIR), the Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, RT. Dennis Emomotimi Guwor and his Bayelsa and Anambra State Counterparts witnessed the Festival.

Prominent Monarchs and Captain of Industry, including Chief Tunde Smooth, the Speaker of Anambra State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Somtochukwu Udeze, and that of Bayelsa State, Rt. Hon. Abraham Ingobere, NUJ led by its National President, Chief Chris Isiguzo also stormed Oporoza for the Festival.

Others at the well attended ceremony were; Sen. Shehu Buba – Chairman, Senate Committee on National Intelligence; Sen. Eteng Williams – Chairman, Committee on Petroleum Upstream; Sen. Jimkuta David – Chairman, Committee on F.C.T. Area Council; Sen. Musa Mustapha – Chairman, Committee on National Population; Sen. Sunday Marshall – Vice Chairman, Committee on Ecological and Climate Change; Sen. Nasir Sani Zangu Daura – Chairman, Committee on Cooperation and Integration in Africa NEPAD; Sen. Dikeh Plang – Chairman Committee on Labour and Productivity, Sen. Ani Anthony – Member, Committee on Labour and Productivity and host of others.

The Royal Father of Gbaramatu Kingdom Kingdom quickly stood up with smiles radiating all over his face as he welcomed and exchanged pleasantries with the Ooni of Ife.

The Ooni of Ife who is the Co-Chairman of Traditional Council of Nigeria also greeted other traditional rulers who were at the event as he raised his two hands joined together to them.

According to our Correspondent, Oporoza, Headquarters of Gbaramatu Kingdom turned a commercial hub for business owners since April 12th, 2024 that the Amaseikumor festival began and ended on Wednesday, April 17th, 2024.

As the event lasted organisers of the event also treated their guests to a lavished reception just as Tompolo danced into the venue with the masquerade and traditional worshippers of Egbesu during the Amaseikumor festival.

Oporoza Community to inside the oil rich of Warri were fully secured as operatives of TANTITA Security Services Limited and the Nigerian Security worked in synergy to secure the lives and properties of their guests as well as ensure there is peace all through.


We’re going to revive, support Nigeria’s cultural heritage – House of Reps member

Meanwhile, the Federal House of Representatives of Nigeria has given backing to revival and full support in celebration of the rich cultural heritage that abound in the country.

This was disclosed on Wednesday at the Amaseikumor Annual Festival held in Oporoza, Gbaramatu Kingdom, Delta State by Frederick Yeitiemone Agbedi, Member of the Federal House of Reps, representing the Sagbama/Ekeremor Federal Constituency of Bayelsa State.

Speaking with newsmen, the third-term Member of the House of Representatives in the 10th National Assembly said, “Our culture is dying, and it’s time for us to revive it.”

He promised that the House of representatives are ready to be part of the Amaseikumor Festival from time to time while appreciating High Chief (Dr.) Government Oweizide Ekpemupolo for ensuring that the festival is celebrated annually.

According to him, “We are believers in the culture of Nigeria, from the North to the South, from East to the West, and as like minds of the House of Representatives, we fine it worthy to come and support our colleagues, Hon. Thomas Ereyitomi and Rt. Hon. Julius Pondi, who are neighbours of this Federal Constituency to celebrate this Amaseikumor festival in Oporoza, Gbaramatu Kingdom of Delta State today.

“We want to use this opportunity to speak to Nigerians across the country that our cultural heritage is dying, and it’s time for us to revive it.

“The people’s House, i.e, the House of Representatives are ready to go across the country to support them in celebrating and reviving our cultural heritage.

I want to use this opportunity to thank the people of Gbaramatu Kingdom, Ijaw Nation, Delta State government, and High Chief Government Ekpemupolo, a.k.a Tompolo, for ensuring that this is yearly and yearly celebrated. We pray for him to have the blessings of God, to continue to sponsor this cultural celebration. And we promise that we will from time to time be part of this celebration.

“As members of the House of Reps, from the North and from the South, we believe that wherever our cultural heritage is celebrated, we’re going to be part of it,” he said.

House of Representatives members present:

Hon Bassey Akiba; Hon Ajilo Umar Shehu; Hon Engr Rodney Ebikebina; Hon Fred Agbedi; Hon Cyril Godwin; Hon Umar Yusuf Yabo; Hon Zakari Duada Nyampa; Hon Terseer Ugbor; Hon. Thomas Ereyitomi and Hon. Benedict Etanabene

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *